h1

Ski season approaching

November 17, 2006

13 years ago, I was 22, fresh out of Uni and needed to ski. So that left one option, a ski season🙂 My good friend Jonny Ayres and I decided to try our luck in Sauze d’Oulx (namely as it had a thriving English tourist industry) and so off we went on the 25th November 1993. It turned out to be one of THE best times of my life, and indeed, the addiction was fuelled by a second season (94-95). I love skiing and a HUGE thanks must go to Mum and Dad for taking Rachel and I skiing from the word go (well, 4 years old). In fact, we even went to Sauze when I was 6 and have the photos to prove it!

I went this year to Cervinia in Italy (spectacular setting under the Matterhorn), and that was the first time for three years (due to other commitments and a buggered shoulder which happened at Cervinia, and even worse, after 2 hours of skiing!). I hope to go this season and really fancy Heavenly on Lake Tahoe🙂 We will have to see what funds are like.

One of the things we used to do, is watch ski videos, both before we went out to the resort and whilst we were there. One of my all time faves is The Blizzard of Oz starring Glen Plake, Scott Schmidt and Mike Hattrup – these guys were the pioneers when it came to Extreme skiing. Great music too ….. Seal provided the soundtrack to one of the later films (from the same director, Greg Stump) which was called Groove Requiem in the Key of Ski🙂

Here’s a pic of Mike Hattrup, still going strong and still working for K2!

hattrup-story.jpg

One comment

  1. Hi there, I was just wondering how well you know the soundtrack to Groove Requiem in the key of ski? The reason I ask is because I have been DESPERATE to get hold of one of the songs from it and it doesn’t appear to get a credit!
    The track is about 5minutes into the film and it is a remix of The Doors “Peace Frog”. It is really funky and its driving me to distraction trying to find it!!! Believe me I have been trying for months!! I would pay good money to the man who knew the artist or name of the track. If you were able to help me in any way at all I would be the most grateful lady in the world. Happy Christmas and Happy skiing!! Heather



Leave a Reply

